9 Comments
Jul 2, 2023Liked by Stella O'Malley

It's wonderful you're getting the words "social contagion" about teen girls into the press. The more people who read those words, the more lights going off in their heads, sooner or later.

Hopefully lights will go off eventually that the whole thing, for both sexes, of all ages, is about deluding onself and others, and it all comes tumbling down.

Thank you, Stella.

Expand full comment
author

Thanks very much. I really think things are opening up these days

Expand full comment
Jul 2, 2023Liked by Stella O'Malley

Nothing against you, dear Stella, but they’re so slow learning about this “social contagion”. Back in 2016, approximately 8 years ago, I remember saying that to my daughter, as her entire group of middle school female friends were all transing or gender questioning, and my daughter was insisting she “felt like a boy”. She was 13.

She wanted to “fit in” with the group dynamics.

It’s group think at it’s worst.

Expand full comment
author

I know, the whole thing is utterly mind boggling

Expand full comment

I agree with you. It's important to teach young kids critical thinking and about the dangers of group think, even (or especially) before kids start going to school. My parents did, every night at the dinner table, starting when I was 3 or 4. They were atheists who wanted me to be able to resist peer pressure to become religious. It worked, and I became a pretty good critical thinker in general. I've been gender-critical since I first heard about "sex change" sexist nonsense in junior high in the mid-1970s, when an aging male tennis pro claimed he was a woman and cheated and manipulated his way into the pro women's tennis circuit.

Many people think 3 or 4 is too young to teach kids about critical thinking, about the problems with religion, ritual, and peer pressure, and group think, but it isn't.

May I ask how your daughter is doing now? Was she receptive to learning what you were teaching her about group-think? And good on you for teaching her. I think that phrase, group think, should be used more in gender-critical spaces. I am going to do so. Thank you for reminding me of that term, to help reach and peak people of all ages.

Expand full comment

If anyone just stopped to think, they might realize that teenage girls and college age boys thinking their bodies are no good and wanting to change them, and opting out of womanhood (or manhood, respectively) is not a healthy trend!!

Expand full comment
author

I couldn't agree more!

Expand full comment
Jul 3, 2023Liked by Stella O'Malley

Thank you again, Stella, for making this article available to me in the USA without having to become a subscriber to The Telegraph! The part about a bimodal curve of small boys and middle-aged men creating a deceptive mean and median, "“Historically there were two main groups: very young boys (aged roughly between 4 and 7, who would ordinarily later be same-sex attracted) and middle aged men - the mean age of this could easily be 26 years of age, with a similar median, and yet it doesn’t really tell the story. " is insightful.

Expand full comment
author

Yes, I agree, I think this bit of knowledge about kids and middle-aged men needs to be shouted from the rooftops

Expand full comment